Eligibility Process

Eligible Organizations

Partnerships are sought with national andinternational non-governmental organizations (NGOs), as they are usually better suited to provide emergency assistance due to their access and experience in the high-priority geographical areas of Afghanistan. Where NGOs are dependent upon UN agencies for pipeline supplies, CHF allocations to respective UN agencies are supported. Ultimately, the determination of whether NGO or UN agencies are supported through the CHF is determined by the comparative advantage of each organization to deliver the articulated response.

As the level of operational, financial and reputational risks are considered to be substantial in Afghanistan, interested NGOs participate in a two-step eligibility process in order to become CHF partners and apply for funding under the CHF allocations. The CHF Eligibility Process ensures transparency and inclusiveness in humanitarian financing, and is fully accountable to affected communities, implementing partners, as well as those contributing to it.

Why Assess Partners?

As risk management is one of the main pillars of the CHF Accountability Framework, the main objective of the CHF Eligibility Process is to ensure that the Humanitarian Financing Unit (HFU) is equipped with the necessary information about the operational capacities of national and international non-governmental partners which will gain access to CHF funding.

NGOs must undergo comprehensive risk management procedures in the two-step eligibility process outlined with the Accountability Framework, for two main reasons:

  • Capacity Development: to review the strengths and weaknesses of an organization’s internal management systems, and to provide recommendations to strengthen less robust areas. This information should then be fed into the overall risk management plan.
  • Risk Management: to consider all information in weighing the final risks against potential benefits in order to apply the most appropriate assurance methods and operational modalities to the partnership.

Due Diligence and Partner Capacity Assessment Processes

The CHF Eligibility Process is comprised of two inter-linked steps: Due Diligence Review and Partner Capacity Assessment, each with its own evaluation and feedback system to ensure transparency.

The Due Diligence Review is meant to ensure that only organizations which meet the minimum requirements are recommended for step two; the Partner Capacity Assessment; as it is a time-consuming and costly process for both the partner and the HFU. The CHF is accessible to national and international NGOs who have successfully passed the Due Diligence Review, and are categorized as High Risk.

Upon the completion of the comprehensive Partner Capacity Assessment, the partner receives an individual ‘score’ which determines the partner’s risk category in three levels (high, medium, low).   The risk rating determines the appropriate operational modalities and assurance mechanisms that will be applied to approve CHF projects. Partner risk ratings are dynamic and can be adjusted over time as the performance of the organization will be reviewed after the implementation of projects with CHF funding.

NGOs interested in applying to become partners of the CHF should review the eligibility documents below and contact the HFU at chfafg@un.orgfor instructions on how to submit the complete application package.

CHF Afghanistan -  Guidance for NGOs on becoming a CHF Partner (English) (Dari) (Pashto)
CHF Afghanistan - Eligibility Process Chart
CHF Afghanistan - Eligibility Process Initial Application Checklist
CHF Afghanistan - Eligibility Process Initial Application Form
CHF Afghanistan - Eligibility Process Declarations