Humanitarian Action Plan for the Conflict-Affected Provinces of Mindanao 2011

3 February 2011
Flash Appeal: 3 February 2011

The Humanitarian Action Plan for Conflict-Affected Provinces of Mindanao (HAP) covers humanitarian activities in six provinces of the southern Philippine island of Mindanao: Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, Sultan Kudarat, North Cotabato and South Cotabato.   The provinces of Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur fall within the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).  The provinces of North Cotabato, South Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat fall within Region XII.  The province of Lanao del Norte is within Region X.  The ‘island provinces’ of Basilan and Sulu, although affected by conflict and with outstanding humanitarian needs, are not covered by the HAP at this time owing to a lack of information and access.  It is intended, however, that these provinces be covered by the HAP in due course.

The HAP covers a twelve-month period, from January 2011 until the end of December 2011.  The total value of the projects in the HAP is US$ 34,527,526.

The HAP was developed shortly after passage of the Republic Act No. 10121 (the “Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Act” / DRRMA), which strengthens the Philippine disaster risk reduction and management system.  The process of developing the HAP and the cluster plans therein fully recognises the provisions of this law. 

The HAP was developed through an intensive consultation process at the Mindanao level, which commenced with a one-day workshop in Cotabato City on 2 August 2010.  The HAP workshop, which established the basic scope, framework and approach for the HAP, benefitted from the active participation of ARMM and Region XII Government representatives, all members of the international humanitarian community active in Mindanao and key local non-government organizations (NGOs).
The main component of the HAP was developed through the clusters, with each cluster chaired by the respective government line ministry, and subsequently endorsed by both the Mindanao Humanitarian Team (MHT) in Cotabato City and the Humanitarian Country Team (HCT) in Manila before being shared with the regional governments for their final comments.   A list of government departments, international organisations, UN agencies and international and national NGOs which participated in the HAP process is included in Annex A.

Document History

3 February 2011
Flash Appeal: 3 February 2011

Download the Document

Related Links

FTS links
FTS Homepage
FTS Appeal Page

ReliefWeb link
Country Page