Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Advisory Board on Human Security


The Advisory Board on Human Security (ABHS) was established to carry forward the recommendations of the Commission on Human Security (CHS) and to advise the UN Secretary-General on:

  • The general guidelines for the United Nations Trust Fund for Human Security (UNTFHS);
  • Methods to increase the impact of projects and activities funded by the UNTFHS;
  • Ways to promote and disseminate the human security approach and deepen its understanding and acceptance worldwide.

The ABHS is an independent body composed of eleven distinguished international experts known for their breadth of knowledge and deep commitment to human security. Current members of the ABHS are:

Ms. Sonia Picado is the President of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights. In 2010, she was appointed the Chair of the Advisory Board on Human Security. Ms. Picado is a former member of the Legislative Assembly of Costa Rica in San José and the former President of the National Liberation Party. In 1999, she led the International Commission of Inquiry on East Timor to study human rights situations there and presented her report to the United Nations High Commissioner for... more
Mrs. Sadako Ogata is the former President of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) and the Honorary Chair of the Advisory Board on Human Security. Prior to her current appointments, Mrs. Ogata co-chaired the Commission on Human Security (June 2001 to April 2003) and was Scholar in Residence at the Ford Foundation. While at the Commission, she was also appointed the Special Representative of the Prime Minister of Japan on Afghanistan Assistance and co-chaired the International... more
Professor Adebayo Adedeji is currently the Executive Director of the African Centre for Development and Strategic Studies, a non-profit think tank based in Nigeria, which he established in 1991 after retiring from the United Nations. He is also the Chairperson of the African Peer Review Mechanism, an initiative on good governance of the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). Prior to these functions, Professor Adedeji had a distinguished academic, diplomatic and political career... more
Mr. Nabil Fahmy is the founding Dean of the School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the American University in Cairo. He serves on the McLarty Associates Board of Counselors and is also Chair of the Monterey California Center for Nonproliferation Studies’ Middle East project.   Mr. Fahmy has served as Egypt's Minister of Foreign Affairs from June 2013 to July 2014; as the Ambassador of Egypt to the United States (1999–2008); Egypt’s Ambassador to Japan (1997... more
Since 2001, Mr. François Fouinat has been advancing the United Nation’s work on human security in a number of ways.  First, as the Executive Director of the Commission of Human Security (CHS), he managed the work of the Commission and supervised the elaboration of its report entitled, “Human Security Now: Protecting and Empowering People”.  Later, as the Executive Secretary of the Advisory Board on Human Security (ABHS), he led the Board’s initial... more
As a former member of the Commission on Human Security (CHS), Dr. Frene Ginwala has continued to work actively on issues pertaining to human security. She was one of 12 distinguished experts of the CHS who engaged in a programme of global outreach and consultation on the concept of human security. The Commission’s work culminated in its report entitled, “Human Security Now: Protecting and Empowering People”.   After 30 years in exile, Dr. Ginwala returned to South... more
Mr. Matjaž Kovačič is the former Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the United Nations in Geneva. Prior to his position in Geneva, Mr. Kovačič worked in the areas of human security, international relations, human rights, minority rights and women’s rights as a representative of the Government of the Republic of Slovenia.   In 1991, after Slovenia's independence, Mr. Kovačič became the country's first Secretary-General at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Later on, he... more
Mr. Kamel Morjane brings many years of experience working with the United Nations. From 1977 to 1996, he served as Director for South West Asia, North Africa and the Middle East and Director for Africa with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. In 1996 he was appointed as Permanent Representative of Tunisia to the United Nations and International Organizations in Geneva before his selection as the Secretary-General’s Special Representative for the Democratic Republic of Congo... more
Mr. Vitit Muntarbhorn is an international human rights expert and a professor of law at Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, Thailand. He was nominated United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights in the Democratic People's Republic of Korea in 2004, a position he held until 2010. In 2004 he was awarded the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education. He also served as the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography... more
Bradford Smith is president of the Foundation Center, the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers—a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector, together with research, education and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level. Before joining the Foundation Center in 2008, Mr. Smith was president of the Oak Foundation in Geneva,... more
Mr. Yukio Takasu is the United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Management and the Special Adviser on Human Security to the United Nations Secretary-General. Previously, he served as the Controller at the United Nations.   From July 2007 to August 2010, Mr. Takasu was the Permanent Representative and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary at the Permanent Mission of Japan to the United Nations in New York. Prior to that, from 2005, he served as his country’s Ambassador... more
Mr. Akihiko Tanaka is President of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA). Before assuming the present post, he was Professor of International Politics at the Interfaculty Initiative in Information Studies and at the Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, the University of Tokyo. Most recently he was Vice President of the University of Tokyo (2011-2012), Executive Vice President of the University of Tokyo (2009-2011), and Director of the Division of International Affairs of the... more
Mr. Knut Vollebaek is a former Norwegian Ambassador to the United States of America (2001-2007) and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Norway (1997-2000). During his diplomatic and political career, he has also served as Assistant Secretary General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1994-1997), Director General, Department of Bilateral Co-operation (1994-1994), Norwegian Ambassador to the Central American States, based in Costa Rica (1991-1993), Deputy Minister (State Secretary) of Foreign... more