Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is a group of 607 small islands totaling 702 km² of land, of which only 65 are inhabited. FSM is part of the Caroline Islands chain which stretches over an area of 2,900 km.

FSM faces a high degree of natural disaster risk as the islands experience a cyclone season each year and increasing exposure to extreme weather-related hazards due to climate change.

Even minor emergencies can overwhelm national capacity and significantly affect the population and economy. Economic development in FSM is constrained by its remote and dispersed island geography and fragile environment. As a result, the country is heavily dependent on funding provided by the USA and other external aid.

Typhoon Sudal hit FSM in 2004 killing five people and affecting over 6,000. In late 2003, Typhoon Lupit hit FSM and affected 1,000 people. In 2002, two tropical storms, Pongsona and Chata’an, struck the FSM within a six month period. Tropical Storm Chata’an triggered flooding and landslides which killed 47 and injured 100 people.

OCHA ROP has provided FSM with disaster assessment teams during emergencies and supported training exercises in emergency preparedness.