The cluster approach is applied by the Humanitarian Coordinator and the Humanitarian Country Team to ensure greater predictability and accountability in humanitarian response.

Eight clusters are active in Somalia: Food Security, Education, Health, Protection, Logistics, Nutrition, Shelter, and Water, Sanitation and Hygiene.

Coordination of humanitarian action in south-central Somalia is largely managed by the cluster structure based in Nairobi. However, recently the cluster capacity in Mogadishu and some other field locations has been strengthened, and it will likely continue to increase in the near future. In Somaliland and Puntland, regional cluster structures are in place, but still with a strong reliance on the cluster coordinators based in Nairobi.

Clusters meet regularly (monthly in most cases) in Nairobi and in the field. A central Inter-Cluster Working Group (ICWG) meets once every two weeks in Nairobi, and a Mogadishu-based ICWG also meets once every two weeks. ICWGs also operate in Somaliland and Puntland.