Skip to main content
Travaux de fixation de dunes : fournir du revenu, proteger les champs de culture et constituer des épargnes pour permettre le démarrage de mini-projet à la fin de l'activité. PNUD, Anjampaly district de Tsihombe

You are here

Global Humanitarian Overview 2022

Geneva | Berlin | Brussels | London | Stockholm | Washington, D.C.


The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) hosted a global launch of the Global Humanitarian Overview 2022 in Geneva on Thursday, 2 December 2021, with multiple sequential launches in Berlin, Brussels, London, Stockholm and Washington, D.C. The report is available on the report website, gho.unocha.org.

Published by OCHA, the Global Humanitarian Overview is the world’s most comprehensive, authoritative and evidence-based overview of the current state and future trends in humanitarian action. The launch events took place as part of a global plan to engage decision-makers and humanitarian actors in highlighting the key themes and urgent priorities covered in the Global Humanitarian Overview 2022. The events served to amplify the voices of affected people, raise awareness of the increasing global humanitarian needs with the public, and encourage partners to contribute generously to humanitarian operations.

For more information, please contact Mr. Karim Saba (External Relations and Partnerships Section, OCHA) at saba@un.org.

Resources for Media

Press Release: EN | AR | ZH | FR | SP

Full report: EN

Abridged report: ARENFR | SP
 

Photos with captions

UNifeed video

Joint letter from civil society organizations

The full Global Humanitarian Overview 2022 can be accessed via its new online platform
 

Global Launch

Geneva

9.00 - 10.30 CET (hybrid event)

Subtheme: Climate Change and Responding to a More Challenging Humanitarian Landscape

Watch Here

Documents
Concept Note
Invitation
USG Martin Griffiths remarks

 

Event focal points
Lead: Ms. Julie Thompson, thompson8@un.org
Registration: Ms. Lubab Alkhairi, alkhairi@un.org
Communications and media: Mr. Jens Laerke, laerke@un.org

 

A child poses in an internally displaced camp on March 10, 2021 in Bambari, Central African Republic. Credit: Siegfried Modola, UNOCHA.

Sequential Launches

Berlin

10.30 - 12.00 CET (virtual event)

Co-host: German Federal Foreign Office (GFFO)
Subtheme: Climate change and its impact on humanitarian needs

Watch Here

Documents
Concept Note
Invitation
Remarks by Anja Nitzsche, Chief, OCHA Partnerships and Resource Mobilization Branch 

 

Event focal points
GFFO: Rebecca Alt, s08-5@auswaertiges-amt.de
OCHA: Amierah Ismail, ismail53@un.org

 

Communication and media focal points
GFFO: Andreas Feil, s07-5@auswaertiges-amt.de
OCHA: Ann Weru, weru@un.org

 

Return to top


Brussels

11.30 - 13.00 CET (virtual event)

Co-host: European Commission’s Directorate-General for Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG ECHO)
Subtheme: Climate change and expanding the resource base

Watch Here

Documents
Concept Note
Invitation
Remarks by Reena Ghelani, Director, OCHA Operations and Advocacy Division

 

Event focal points
DG ECHO: Adela Kabrtova, Adela.KABRTOVA@ec.europa.eu
OCHA: Chunyao Yi, yi1@un.org

​​​​

Communication and media focal points
DG ECHO:  Federica Cuccia, Federica.CUCCIA@ec.europa.eu
OCHA: Vanessa Huguenin, huguenin@un.org

 

Return to top


London

11.30 - 13.00 GMT (virtual event)

Co-host: Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO)
Subtheme: The role of innovation, data and technology in mitigating climate risks and impacts

Watch Here

Documents
Concept Note
Invitation
ASG a.i. Ramesh Rajasingham remarks

 

Event focal points
FCDO: Safina Khalique, Safina.khalique@fcdo.gov.uk 
OCHA: Johnstone Oketch, oketch@un.org
OCHA: Amelework Berhane, desta2@un.org

 

Communications and media focal points
FCDO: Pawan Dhande, pawan.dhande@fcdo.gov.uk 
OCHA: Zoe Natasha Paxton, zoe.paxton@un.org

 

Return to top


Stockholm

14.00 - 15.30 CET Drottninggatan 4, Stockholm (conference room Lunden)

Co-host: The Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Sweden and the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency
Subtheme: The impact of climate change and conflict on food security

Watch Live

Documents
Concept Note
Invitation
Remarks by Wafaa Saeed, Director, OCHA Coordination Division 

 

Event focal points
Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Ms. Sofia Karlsson, sofia.h.karlsson@gov.se
OCHA (External Relations): Mr. Karim Saba, saba@un.org

 

Communication and media focal points
MFA: Hannah Rehn, hanna.rehn@gov.se
OCHA: Kirsten Mildren, mildren@un.org

 

Return to top


Washington, D.C.

10.30 - 12.00 EST (virtual event)

Co-hosts: Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) and United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
Subtheme: Climate, Gender, and Humanitarian Response: Protecting and Empowering Women and Girls

Watch Here

Documents
Concept Note
USG Martin Griffiths remarks
Remarks by Samantha Power, USAID Administrator
Remarks by Jacob Kurtzer, Director and Senior Fellow with the Humanitarian Agenda at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (includes full transcript)

 

Event focal point
OCHA: Jessica Moses, jessica.moses@un.org

 

Communication and media focal point
OCHA: Anna Jefferys, jefferysa@un.org

 

Return to top