19 Sep 2013
Printer-friendly version

(New York, 19 September 2013): United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon today announced the appointment of six new members to the Advisory Group of the Central Emergency Response Fund (CERF). The Advisory Group’s newest members come from a range of countries and bring with them years of expertise in the humanitarian field.

The CERF Advisory Group provides policy guidance and advice on the use and impact of the CERF through the Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator, Valerie Amos, who manages the Fund’s day-to-day operations on behalf of the Secretary-General.  The Secretary-General shares recommendations and conclusions from each Advisory Group meeting with Member States through the President of the General Assembly to ensure transparency and accountability. The newly-appointed members are:

Mr. Brouz Ralph Enneric Coffi  (Côte d'Ivoire)
Minister Plenipotentiary, Permanent Mission of Côte d'Ivoire to the United Nations, New York

Ms. Jette Michelsen (Denmark)
Counsellor, Coordinator of Humanitarian Affairs and Political Coordinator, Permanent Mission of Denmark to the United Nations, New York

Dr. Eltje Aderhold (Germany)
Head of Division, Task Force for Humanitarian Aid of the  Federal Foreign Office

Dr. Ahmed Al-Meraikhi (Qatar)
Director of the Department of International Development, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, and Director-General of the Qatar Development Fund

Mr. Jozef H.L. M. Andriessen (the Netherlands)
Director of the Stabilisation and Humanitarian Aid Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Major General Dr. Julius Oketta (Uganda)
Director, National Emergency Operations and Coordination Centre, Office of the Prime Minister, Department of Relief, Disaster Preparedness and Management

These new members will begin their three-year term at the upcoming Advisory Group meeting, which will take place in early November. The remaining twelve of the Group’s eighteen members will continue to serve ongoing their three-year terms.

For more information, please see the press release.