Skip to main content

You are here

High-level Ministerial Meeting on the Humanitarian Situation in Afghanistan

United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres convened a High-level Ministerial Meeting on the Humanitarian Situation in Afghanistan on Monday, 13 September 2021, from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. Geneva (CET) / 8 a.m. to noon New York (EDT). The meeting highlighted the acute needs in the country and underscored the urgent funding support and actions required by international partners to support the Afghan people during their time of need. A full recording of the event is available online.


The country faces an extremely dire situation and is confronted with protracted conflict, severe drought and the COVID-19 pandemic in a context where some 18 million Afghans – almost half of the population – were already in need of aid. More than 550,000 people have been displaced in the country since January 2021. One in three Afghans is experiencing crisis or emergency level of food insecurity, and more than half of the children under age 5 are at the brink of acute malnutrition. The severe drought is compounding the humanitarian crisis, and the upcoming winter conditions are expected to be harsh. Humanitarian partners are therefore calling for urgent supplies for the country. 

The UN remains committed to deliver impartial humanitarian assistance and protection to millions of people in need. Development gains must also be protected to link the humanitarian response with Afghanistan’s medium- and long-term stability. Women’s and girls’ rights, safety and well-being are an essential part of that link. 

It is crucial for the international community to take swift action to ensure that the people of Afghanistan have unimpeded access to life-saving assistance, and that humanitarian funding to support them is scaled up. To this effect, Secretary-General Guterres convened the High-level Ministerial Meeting on the Humanitarian Situation in Afghanistan. 

Programme and Statements

Download Programme

Monday, 13 September 2021
2 p.m. to 6 p.m. Geneva (CET) / 8 a.m. to noon New York (EDT)

2 p.m. - 2.15 p.m.

Opening Session

·    Opening remarks from UN Secretary-General António Guterres
·    Remarks by USG/ERC Martin Griffiths
·    Remarks by CARE International SG Sofía Sprechmann Sineiro
·    Moderator: USG Melissa Fleming

2.15 p.m. - 5.55 p.m.
Interventions from the Floor
5 p.m. - 5.30 p.m.
Press Conference
5.55 p.m. - 6 p.m.
Closing Remarks by USG/ERC Martin Griffiths

Additional Statements

Disclaimer: Statements and videos by partners are not a reflection of endorsement by OCHA. 

OCHA thanks all partners who provided interventions from the floor, including the following additional statements:

Member States

Ecuador H.E. Mrs. Bernarda Ordóñez Moscoso,
National Secretary of Human Rights
Georgia H.E. Mr. Alexander Maisuradze,
Permanent Representative of Georgia to the United Nations Office in Geneva
Romania H.E. Mr. Cornel Feruță, State Secretary,
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Romania
Tajikistan H.E. Mr. Jamshed Khamidov,
Permanent Representative of Tajikistan to the United Nations Office in Geneva            
Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of

H.E. Mr. Hector Constant Rosales,
Permanent Representative of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the United Nations Office in Geneva

Video Statement


United Nations Entities and Partners

United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) Mr. Bruno Donat, Global Coordinator,
Mine Action Area of Responsibility, Chief, UNMAS Geneva office – video
Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) H.E. Ms. Nassima Baghli,
Permanent Observer of the OIC to the United Nations Office in Geneva
Voices of Afghan Women

Ms. Shaharzad Akbar, Chairperson
Afghanistan Independent Human Rights Commission

Ms. Yald Royan, Country Technical Team Lead
VOICE Amplified



Concept Note (as of 12 September) *updated*
Media Advisory
Afghanistan Country Page, OCHA
Afghanistan Flash Appeal (September-December 2021)
Afghanistan Flash Appeal Summary (September-December 2021)
Afghanistan Humanitarian Fund Fact Sheet


OCHA focal points for the event: Ms. Chunyao Yi (; and Mr. Justin Dittmeier (
For inquiries regarding in-person participation at the meeting: Ms. Emira Klibi (