Skip to main content

You are here

Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia, abbreviated FSM is also known as Micronesia. FSM is a group of 607 small islands totaling 702 km² of land, of which only 65 are inhabited. FSM is part of the Caroline Islands chain which stretches over an area of 2,900 km.

FSM faces a high degree of natural disaster risk as the islands experience a cyclone season each year and increasing exposure to extreme weather-related hazards due to climate change.

Even minor emergencies can overwhelm national capacity and significantly affect the population and economy. Economic development in FSM is constrained by its remote and dispersed island geography and fragile environment. As a result, the country is heavily dependent on funding provided by the USA and other external aid.

Typhoon Sudal hit FSM in 2004 killing five people and affecting over 6,000. In late 2003, Typhoon Lupit hit FSM and affected 1,000 people. In 2002, two tropical storms, Pongsona and Chata’an, struck the FSM within a six-month period. Tropical Storm Chata’an triggered flooding and landslides which killed 47 and injured 100 people. In January 2016, many part of Micronesia entered a period of moderate to severe drought El Nino impacts with lower than normal rainfall recorded in the following months which caused drought in the Mariana islands and parts of Chuuk state.

OCHA OP has provided FSM with disaster assessment teams during emergencies and supported training exercises in emergency preparedness. OCHA on behalf of the Pacific Humanitarian Team in partnership with UNDP and UNFPA in 2017 launched FSM’s country preparedness package (CPP) with the NDMO.

The UN have a presence in FSM through a Joint Presence Office and the country is covered under the UN Resident Coordinator based in Fiji.