Skip to main content

You are here


The OCHA Regional Office for Southern and Eastern Africa (ROSEA) covers 25 countries from Nairobi.

Comprising the Horn of Africa and the Great Lakes, Eastern Africa is a region in which emergencies tend to be protracted and large scale, resulting in significant displacement and other needs. For this reason, OCHA maintains country presences in Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan. The Southern Africa region has fewer protracted humanitarian crises, but is prone to drought, floods and cyclones. OCHA has a country office in Mozambique and Humanitarian Advisory Teams in Madagascar and Zimbabwe.

For those countries where OCHA does not have a presence, it is essential that OCHA can deploy from the regional hub swiftly and effectively in times of emergency, and to otherwise ensure preparedness for potential crises. OCHA works closely with local authorities and partners to bolster national disaster preparedness in these countries and assists response both through surge and remote support.

Whether we are mobilizing relief money or raising awareness of forgotten crises, it is our mandate to keep world attention focused on humanitarian issues. For this reason, we produce and release timely regional reporting and analytical products to strengthen the humanitarian case and highlight the needs of the most vulnerable in the region. OCHA ROSEA provides a platform for the analysis of cross-border issues of humanitarian concern, such as facilitating multi-country preparedness and planning consultations. OCHA ROSEA works to strengthen collaboration on emergency preparedness and response with regional bodies, such as the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) in Eastern Africa and the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) in Southern Africa.